vegetables

Meat Free for One Month

MY FIRST MONTH AS A VEGETARIAN

One of my goals for 2017 was to try vegetarianism for one entire month, that meant eating a plant based diet while completely removing meat and fish from my meals. On the cusp of “New Year Resolution January” I decided February would be my goal, bonus, it is the shortest month in the year.

One key to my success was knowing that I wasn’t committed to this diet forever, I only had to get through 28 days as a vegetarian and then reflect on the experience. I did not put pressure on myself to continue beyond this short time period. This made the changes easier to accept.

WHAT I NOTICED:

  • Pinterest became by bestfriend, take a look at some of my favourite healthy plant based recipes here
  • My skin cleared up
  • I found mental clarity
  • Day 5 was tough, tip: stay close to a bathroom
  • I lost a bit of weight
  • I started taking vitamins, (B12 & D)
  • I had more energy than before, I didn’t crash at 3pm like I usually do
  • I felt inspired to learn more about how eating less meat benefits the world, your health and the animals

There were only two occasions where I was tempted to cheat, but I stayed strong and found the experience to be easier than I expected. I’m proud to say I made it through the first month and I’m well into the second.

Leave a Reply

